Catch flights , not feelings 


We all want someone.We see all the romantic comedies and even if we don’t like to admit it, bask in every single one. 
This year catch flights, not feelings. Don’t think the only source of my happiness can come in the shape of another human because that couldn’t be further of the truth. I need other people, but not as much as I need myself. I am important and I matter, so start putting myself first.

Stop jumping in the arms of men, stop looking for someone to give you attention, as nice as it might feel from time to time you don’t need it.Attention might temporarily heal you, but traveling will make you feel better for the rest of your life.

Traveling will test you. There will be really hard days, but I can promise you it will be worth it, even if you struggle along the way.Traveling touches part of the heart no man or woman could ever reach

While we are busy dreaming up scenarios that aren’t currently happening with boys who don’t exist, we are busy building a life of our own. School and work are a mere obstacle we conquer between late night activities with our girlfriends, killing it at the gym, and spending hours online dreaming up our next adventure.

I am planning my next volunteer mission trip, next backpacking trip, and next move. I plan on flying away after exams , or on my next holiday trip as if these flights will take me to new heights and new beginnings.


Saving up and spending my money on trips to exotic places that are going to make me grow as a person sounds a lot more appealing to me than wasting all of my money on bar and clothes. Every time I travel to a new place; I come back a different and better person. I can’t say the same thing after a night of too many vodka.


To be honest, my bull-headed mind and the ideas I have for myself are too concrete not to go after what I want, so I probably still would try to take plunges into the unknown and jump to new flights. This could mean getting hurt. This could mean making things hard. This could mean missing someone; a feeling I am not used to. And maybe, because of all of this, it means slightly changing my plans. 


Right now, I don’t owe anyone anything, whether I am single or with someone the only person truly living your life is you so why put restrictions on my freedom? Fill the passport pages, fill my memories, fill myself up with experiences. And considering I am still so young, and my priority is to experience everything and anything.

This year put myself  first and fall in love with my life, I owe that to myself . 

Should I catch feelings or flights ?

One comment

  1. Travelling.. it’s a good way to find yourself again.

    You didn’t lose anything.. you just lost yourself from the hurtful experience you had.

    This trip, wherever you are planning to go, it’s not to run away from your troubles. It is to find yourself again. Think of it as, going into the mountains to train and coming back as a stronger being.

    Ultimately.. to answer your question, catch flight.. =) All the best Sammy. I believe in you.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.